Tags

, , , , , , , ,

DSC08014_final

As I mentioned before, noodle has always been my favorite carb-loaded dish. No matter how I try prevent myself from indulging the dish so much, I’m still drawn to it whenever it is available. So I kinda forgave myself from losing my control in Isetan when I found out that they were having dry noodle sale. They had a various range of dry noodle, from dry Udon,  dry Somen, dry Ramen, all the way to the famous Soba. I couldn’t help my self to give a try on every single sampler available, not that I enjoy the free-stuff, but of course I enjoy the free delicious noodle by any means!

I actually went to Isetan just to buy a pack of somen. But I ended up buying 2 packs of dry udon, 3 packs of different types of miso, 1 pack of dried fish, and some other small stuffs  which I didn’t really remember of putting them into my shopping basket. Well, that’s why it is almost always not a good idea to go to the grocery store during sale season by ourselves.

Back to the noodle, the dry udon, turned out to be a very delicious dish. It was, indeed, a very good buy.  The noodle is already very tasty by itself. However, I have 3 packs of miso, and I was very eager to try it. So I decided to use the spicy garlic miso for my noodle. I mixed the noodle with some pork oil, crunchy pork fat, garlic and shallot. It was a bliss. Spicy, tasty, crispy, and chewy at the same time.  It that kind of food that reminds you: simple things are the best things in life.

DSC08020_final

Things you need:

  • 2 servings of dry udon/dry noodle/somen
  • 40 gr pork fat, cut into small pieces (you can replace it with chicken skin – for halal version)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, slice them thinly
  • 3 pieces of shallots, slice them thinly
  • Spring onion, chopped into small pieces
  • 200 gr salmon fillet
  • 2 tbsp spicy miso paste
  • 2 dried chilies, cut into small pieces
  • Bok Choy, blanched

Things you need to do:

Sprinkle pepper and salt on each side of your salmon. On a hot non stick pan, pan fried the salmon fillet until fully cooked. Flake the salmon into small pieces. Set aside.

Make the crackling fat. Cook the pork fat until you get all the oil out and left with crispy fat. Set aside the crispy fat.  Using the oil, fry the slice garlic until a pale brown, set aside.  Repeat the process and fry the shallots, do the same, set aside. In a small bowl mix the garlic, shallots, crispy fat, and a bit of salt and dried chilies. Set aside

Make the noodle. In a small bowl, mix the miso paste with a little bit of the hot pork fat (adjust as you like), set aside. Boil the noodle until cooked, then immediately put it into the miso bowl, mix well, if the noodle is too dry you can add pork oil or a bit of the noodle water.

Serve the noodle with the salmon flakes, crispy pork fat-garlic-shallot mixture and bok choy.

DSC08040_final

 

 

