Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

DSC06844_postsharp_smaller

I’ve mentioned before that I’d like to have postings about various breakfast ideas for your weekends. So here it is.. Breakfast#1: Savory Crepe

Despite the fact that I love making dessert and sweets, for breakfast I prefers savory stuff. I’m not saying that I don’t like pancakes or waffles or cinnamon toast. They are great too.. I might make one of them as part of this breakfast ideas series.

You can also share your preferred breakfast menu with me, maybe I can try it out here .. in my little kitchen.

This savory crepes was not really my first idea. I was thinking to use filo pastry to wrap the filling, but it was already too late when I realized that my filo pastry was all dried out in the fridge. So instead of using filo pastry, I made thin crepes as a substitution. I still think the filo pastry version would turn out much nicer .. but you know life is not perfect.

For the filling, I combined thyme, potatoes, pork sausages, bell pepper and Jalapeno. And I used a mix of Greek yogurt, sauté jalapeno and melted butter for the sauce. Simple, fresh, super easy and tasty!

So without further ado here we go our Savory Crepes.

DSC06832_postsharp_smaller_nosign

DSC06865_postsharp_smaller_nosign

Yield 5-6 crepes

Things you need:

For the Crepe:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/8 cup cold water
  • 1 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

For the filling:

  • 2 big potatoes – chopped into small cubes
  • 3 cloves of garlic – smashed and chopped
  • 1/2 red onion – cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 red pepper – chopped into small cubes
  • 1/2 yellow pepper – chopped into small cubes
  • 2 Jalapeno- chopped into small cubes
  • 6 small sausages – take out from the wrapping or chopped into small bits
  • Bunch of thyme (I like thyme so I put lots of them)
  • salt and black pepper to taste

For the sauce:

  • 4 Tbsp  Greek yogurt
  • 25 gr  butter
  • 1 jalapeno chopped into small cubes

Things you need to do:

Make the filling. Heat your skillet pan with a bit of vegetable oil. Put in the potatoes, add in some of the thyme, salt and pepper. Cook the potatoes until crispy and a bit brown on the outside. Set aside.

Heat your skillet pan with a bit of vegetable oil. Put in the garlic and the red onion, cook until fragrant. Add in the bell peppers, jalapeno and thyme, cook until the pepper a bit soft. Put in the sausages, add in salt and pepper to taste. Once cooked, set aside.

Make the crepe. Combine the milk, water, eggs and flour in a big bowl. Using your balloon whisk, mix the ingredient until the batter is smooth and lump free. Pour in 3 tablespoons of the melted butter. Whisk it again, just to incorporate the butter. Refrigerate the batter for 1 hour to let it rest. If the crepes are made immediately, they turned out to be rubbery; when you let the batter rest, the crepes have a better texture.

Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet over medium heat and brush with a little melted butter. Pour  1/4 of batter into the pan and swirl around so it covers the bottom evenly; pour back any excess. Cook for 30-45 seconds, until the batter sets. Use a rubber spatula to loosen the edges of the crepe, flip the crepe and cook for another 30 seconds. The crepes should be pliable, not crisp, and lightly brown. Set them aside and continue until all the batter are cooked.

Make the sauce. Heat your skillet pan with some butter, once the butter is melted, add in the jalapeno. Cook the jalapeno until wilted. Pour the butter and jalapeno into a small bowl, add in the yogurt, mix well.

Assemble. Put the filling in the middle of the crepe, roll the crepe . Serve it with the sauce.

Note: I serve the crepe with half boiled egg.

If you have filo pastry, use the filo pastry to wrap the potatoes. Roll the filo pastry into pipe shape, then curl it into a snail shape. Tuck the edges, then cook the filo on a skillet pan with a bit of butter until the skin is a bit brownish (both sides).

DSC06935_postsharp_smaller_nosignDSC06879_postsharp_smaller_nosignDSC06931_postsharp_smaller_nosignDSC06915_postsharp_smaller_nosign

 

 

