Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC06350_postsharp_smaller

I love breakfast. I think from all of the food, I like breakfast the most. Especially on weekends, having breakfast with your love ones during weekend morning is bliss. Imagine having a cup of coffee with a slice of fresh warm toast, butter and a perfect sunny side up, sitting on your kitchen bar, while looking out of the window… yeah my kind of weekend.

Maybe one day I will make a compilation of my favorites breakfast menu and post them here. Or maybe one day I open a bed and breakfast inn somewhere in a picturesque vacation island… Or maybe I open a small restaurant (just like Rachel Khoo’s La petite cuisine a Paris) only selling breakfast.

DSC06344_postsharp_smaller

Well in the mean time, I think having breakfast with my cameraman is good enough for me.

Let’s talk about Beef. The best beef that I have ever encountered by far is Wagyu Beef in Japan. Couple months back, I was in Tokyo for a business trip. We didn’t really get the chance to go around Tokyo because of the busy schedule. But we did manage to have dinner in one of the BBQ beef restaurant that sells Wagyu Beef – Blue Ribbon somewhere near Higashi Ginza. I’m not sure what it means by Blue ribbon, even up until now. But I can tell you, it was one of the best Wagyu beef I have ever tasted.  It was soft, tasty and super juicy. That night I forgot all about my cholesterol, my work, my extra weight on my waist and even my husband. There was only me and the beef. Yes, it was that good. Even talking about it makes my saliva drools …

Well, my beef recipe is not exactly the same type. It is good, but of course nothing beats the king of beef it self. This beef recipe is taken from this site. The recipe is using a tenderloin cut. And it is actually a much simpler version of a beef wellington. Instead of using the pastry crust, this one use puff pastry. Instead of wrapping it in the pastry, this one actually cooks them separately. It is a great dish for you who likes beef.  But to be honest, I prefer to a simple medium rare beef steak (sirloin cut) with a simple seasoning (salt and pepper, that is) on the beef. Maybe with some herbs sauce on the side.

DSC06311_postsharp_smaller

Things you need :

100 gr puff pastry

For the sauce:

  • 1 pack of mushroom sliced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp of thyme
  • 1/2 cup of broth
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup provolone cheese

For the beef:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 120 gr tenderloin (1- 1 1/2 inch thick) – you can also use sirloin if you like
  • Salt and pepper
  • a bunch of spinach, blanched in a broth, drained and chopped to small pieces

Things you need to do:

Pre- heat the oven to 180C.

Roll the puff pastry to 4.5 inch x 3 inch. Score about half inch around the side. Prick the middle part with fork. Brush it with a bit of egg wash, and bake it in the oven for 20 mins or until it is golden brown.

Make the sauce. Stir fry the onion until a bit transparent. Put in the mushroom, cook until the mushroom is browned. Add the garlic and thyme, fry until it is fragrant. De-glaze the mushroom with the broth, then add in the heavy cream and cheese. Mix them well, then set aside.

Pre- heat the oven to 200C.

Cook the beef. Sprinkle the salt and pepper all over the beef. Heat your oven proof pan and add in the oil, put in the beef. Cook each side of the beef for about 1 – 2 minutes.

Finish the beef in the oven for about 4 – 5 mins (this will give you medium rare). Set aside. Let the beef rest for 5-10 mins before you cut it.

Assemble. Cut the beef into 1 cm thick. Put the blanched spinach on top of the puff pastry. Arrange the beef on top of the spinach. Finish it with the mushroom sauce.

Enjoy!

DSC06366_postsharp_smaller

 

 

