Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

DSC06129_postsharp_smaller

When I was a kid, my mum used to make us a crescent shaped cookie called ‘Putri Salju’ (Indonesian name for Snow White). The cookie is basically a cashew nut cookie that melts in your mouth. It was one of my favorite cookies. I love the crunchy texture of the cookies, the nutty flavor, and how the sugar powder that coats the cookie just melting away the moment you put it in your mouth. Such a happy moment to devour those little angels, well at least until my mum snapped my hand away from the baking tray.

It’s been a long time since the last time I ate those delicious cookies, and I’m craving for it.

DSC06136_postsharp_smaller

I have a few tins of those lovely Marriage Black Tea – Marcopolo in my kitchen. I was thinking of many ways to use it into my cooking experiments ( see my Marcopolo sable cookie). Up until now, I have not managed to incorporate it into my cakes, because somehow, the fragrant is a bit too vague for a cake. Or maybe  I just have not found the right composition. Nevertheless, Marcopolo tea is a perfect ingredients for cookie. So, instead of using the cashew, I used the black tea for half of my cookie dough.

DSC06169_postsharp_smaller

While for the other half of the cookie dough, I mixed it with some chopped roasted hazelnuts . The result? Well, it is a very fragrant and delicate, almost-melting-at-your-touch cookie.

The hazelnut version has that very rich nutty and a bit more crunchy texture. While the black tea version is just soo delicate and gone within one second. Before you know it, you are already reaching for the second piece. I have to warn you this little snow drop cookie are very addictive! If you don’t care about your pants size, go ahead and try this recipe. It is super easy and  I’m sure it will blow your palate ..

DSC06173_postsharp_smaller

Snow Drop Cookies (yield: 3 dozens)

Things you need:

  • 160 gr  all purpose flour
  • 95 gr corn flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 40 gr powdered sugar
  • 227 gr unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp black tea, chopped,  I used Mariage – Marcopolo
  • 1 1/2 tbsp roasted hazelnuts, chopped
  • Some extra powdered sugar for topping

Things you need to do:

Put together flour, cornstarch and salt, whisk together. Set aside.

In your electric mixer bowl, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla extract. Add in the flour mixture and beat until incorporated. Divide the mixture into two portion.

Add in the chopped hazelnut into the first portion, using rubber spatula, mix them well. Wrap the dough with cling wrap.

Add in the black tea into the second portion, using rubber spatula, mix them well. Wrap the dough with cling wrap.

Refrigerate both dough for at least 1 hour or until firm.

Preheat the oven to 177 C. Line your baking trays with parchment paper.

When the dough is firm, form dough into 1/2 inch balls and place the cookies on a baking tray spacing about 1/2 inch apart. Bake for 12-14 mins or until the edges of the cookies start to brown. Remove from the oven and place them on a cooling rack for about 5 mins.

Line another baking pan with parchment paper, sprinkle powdered sugar onto the bottom of the pan. Place the cookies on to the sugar tray, sieve the remaining powdered sugar on top of the cookies until they are all covered.

DSC06190_postsharp_smaller

Aren’t they gorgeous? Serve the warm cookie with your tea.

I put the cookie in airtight container in my fridge, and they are fabulous even after a few days!

Note: when you keep it in your container, put wax paper between the cookies layers, it will prevent sticking between the cookies.

DSC06195_postsharp_smaller

 

