Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

DSC05081_postsharp_small

Smokey Salmon…..Gosh,  need I say more? Oh this recipe is the ultimate salmon dish that you need to try.  I found the recipe somewhere in the Pinterest. The picture was so inviting, the salmon looked like a sun-tanned sexy beach girl smiling at you (not that I like girls, I still love my cameraman). Immediately I know that I got to try it.

So now not only the look that intrigue me, the salmon is somehow cooked with tea, I LOVE cooking with tea! The fragrant of the tea is the key to the smokiness of the salmon. The recipe suggests to use black tea, so I used a combination of TWG Signature Black Tea and TWG Earl Grey Tea. Why did I combine them? well simply because I wanted to see how it turned out to combine 2 different teas. And the result?  AMAZING.

The salmon was soo tender, still fatty (definitely not dry), flaky, and so so sooooo smokey with the fragrant smell from the tea. It was soo damn good. I think I’m making it again soon, because surprisingly it is very very easy too cook it. One more thing I would say it is relatively healthy because doesn’t involve any deep frying activities.

DSC05114_postsharp_small

Things you need:

  • 1 piece of thick long cut salmon (cut it into 2 small pieces) – I suggest to use the thick cut
  • 4-6 Bok Choy
  • Steamed Rice
  • Bango Kecap Manis (sweet soy sauce)

Marination:

  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 3 Tbs fresh garlic – sliced
  • 2 Tsp Chinese Five Spice powder
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 5 Tbs soy sauce
  • 3 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 Lemon

Tea Smoking Ingredients

  • 3 Tbs rice
  • 2 Tbs tea leaves
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 2 star anise
  • 2 Tbs cayenne pepper

Things you need to do:

Put all the marination ingredients into a big zip lock bag, add in the salmon, mix it all together. Put aside and leave it for overnight.

Prepare the wok for smoking. Use a big deep wok/pan that has a cover. Take a large piece of foil and fold it in a half then a half again so you have around 6-8 inch square. Put the foil on the pan. Make another three layer of the foils and put it on top of each other. At the end you will get 4 layer of foil in your pan.

Now mix all smoking ingredients all together, put it on top of the foil, make sure they spread nicely on top of the last foil. Place a rack of steamer on top of the foil so it sits directly on top of the tea mixture but not touching it.

Take the salmon from the marinade, dab the back side of it with paper towel to dry it a bit. Then put it on the steamer. Cover the pan tightly with another foil then top it with the lid.  Steam the fish on a high heat for 2-3 minutes until you see a small puff coming out from the wok. Then lower the heat to medium , cook it for about 7-8 minutes on medium heat. It should be fully cooked now. I leave the fish in the with the cover on while I prepared the rice and bok choy.

Quickly, stir fry the bok choy with the marination sauce until it a little bit wilt. Set aside. Get the steam rice, mold it in a 8 cm ring mould. Pour the marination sauce on your pan, add in Kecap Bango – sweet soy sauce (i used the spicy ones), reduce until it is a bit thick. Put the mold rice on top of the sauce and cook it until the rice a bit brown at the bottom and flip, now do the same for the top. Once done set aside.

Take the salmon from the wok, brown the top of the salmon on a broiler or use your blow torch to give that sun-tanned color on top of your salmon. Serve the salmon with the rice and bok choy.

DSC05140_postsharp_small

Enhanced by Zemanta
