Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

DSC04367_final

I have to confess … I have been wanting to make Japanese cheese cake ever since my hubby ordered a chiffon cheese cake from my favorite cake shop (Kki Cake shop). I tried about 5 times to make it, and I failed 4 times. I only succeeded 1 time, and it didn’t even have that perfect shape. It was a bit shrinking on the sides, but it was not sinking on the top. It was fluffy and quite nice in terms of texture.

But then after that one successful trial, I have been trying 2 times to repeat the glory, but I failed big time.  I suspect it is the oven heat that kills the cake. I’m not sure though, maybe the third time is a charm? Maybe I should give it a try again? I will definitely.

DSC04321_final

In the mean time, I made this blueberry cheese bar which turned out to be quite a knock out dessert. The cheese cake is light, a bit tangy and sweet. It has a thin layer of blueberry jam at the bottom with sour cream layer on the top. It was not as rich as the normal cheese cake, maybe it is because of the combination between the blue berry and the sour cream.

The original recipe actually can produce about 18 Cm round cake, but I made it into bars, to make it a bite size. I would say the smaller the cut, the better the taste.

DSC04372_final

Things you need:

For cheese cake

  • 65 gram Nilla wafers, crushed
  • 25 gram unsalted butter, melted
  • 220 gram cream cheese, room temperature
  • 50 gram castor sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tbsp whipping cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For the blueberry layer

  • 250 gr fresh blueberry
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 1/2 tsp corn flour mix with 1 tsp of water

For Sour cream layer

  • 130 gram sour cream
  • 20 gram icing sugar

DSC04396_final

Things you need to do:

Pre-heat the oven to 170 C. Lightly grease 20 cm square pan with removable base.

Make the cookie layer. Combine the wafers crumbs with melted butter and press it down onto the base of the pan. Place the pan int the fridge to set.

Make the blueberry layer.  Put the blueberries on a sauce pan with the sugar and water over a medium heat, keep stirring. Let the blueberry simmers for a bit until it is watery and pops up, almost like blueberry sauce. Pour in the corn flour mixture and let it reduce, until it turns into blueberry jam consistency. Remove from the heat and set aside.

Make the cheese cake layer. Beat the cream cheese, sugar, egg yolks, whipping cream and vanilla together until smooth (make sure the cream cheese is well softened at room temperature).

Spread the blueberry jam over the cookie base, pour the cream cheese over it, bake for about 30 mins or until the surface is firm and springy to touch. Take out from the oven and increase the oven to 200 C.

Combine the sour cream and icing sugar, heat it over microwave until it becomes smooth and watery. Pour the sour cream over the cheese cake and continue to bake for another 3 mins to set the sour cream. Cool the cake on a wire rack and cover it to chill in the fridge overnight.

DSC04419_final

Enjoy!

Enhanced by Zemanta
