Tags

, , , ,

_DSC6054_final

I’ve got this nice gift pack from my japanese coleague when i left Tokyo. Inside the nice pack I found a can of tea and a jar of jelly. I thought : ‘Hmm Marco Polo.. looks very France and fancy’  But I’m not a tea lover so i was not too impressed in the beginning. I opened the can anyway just to find out what it is…and from the moment i opened that can… ‘OH my GOD’…..the smell of the tea really hit all of my senses. It was so fragrant, it has that deep elegant fruity, flowery fragrance. It is the perfect tea for my baking stuff!

I searched in the internet to find out its origin. It turned out that the tea is quite famous. It is Marcopolo from Mariage, a high end tea brand from France. Unfortunatelly, I can’t find this tea easily in Singapore. Dean Deluca has this brand in their store, but they dont sell Marco Polo type. O well.. i guess i will have to ask my friend to buy some more cans for me when they visit Tokyo. In the meantime, I promised to my self to make the best out of it.

So for the first trial, I decided to make it into a cookie. The result? Well..its buttery, its fragrant, its crumbly, it is sweet and salty at the same time. Let’s just say…It is the best cookies that i’ve ever put in my mouth and i’m going to make it again this weekend :).

Note: Thanks to Fueki-san for buying me this tea.. Love you, Fueki-san!

Cookies for any occasion

Cookies for any occasion

Marcopolo Cookie

Things you need:

  • 250 gr plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Marcopolo Mariage tea leaves (black tea)
  • 1 bag of Osmanthus Sencha Gryphon tea leave (this will give a lighter taste to the cookies)
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 62.5 gr icing sugar, sifted
  • 226 gr unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Things you need to do:

Mix together flour, tea, and salt in a bowl with whisk.

Beat together butter, and icing sugar on medium speed until pale and light. Mix in the vanilla extract.  Lower the  speed and gradually mix in flour mixture until just combined.

Divide the dough into 2. Roll each in a piece of parchment paper and shape them into logs.  Freeze until firm.

Preheat oven to 180 C.  Cut logs into 3 mm thick slices. Put the cookies on a baking tray lined with baking paper ( give a space between cookies – about 2 cm).  Bake cookies for about 15 minutes – until the cookies slightly golden.

Let the cookie cool down on wire racks before you start chewing it.

Enjoy the cookie with the tea or coffee or a bottle of milk!

_DSC6093_final

