Tags

, , , , , ,

_DSC5977_final_new

We had visitors in the last couple of weeks, so we’ve been quite tight up with the ‘tourist guide’ role for the last 2 weekends.

While for this week, I had a business trip to Tokyo for 3 days. And of course, whenever I’m in Tokyo, I have a list of places that I have to visit. One of them is Sadaharu Aoki in Shin Kokusai Building – Marunouchi. His cakes are to die for. How I wish I could make it by myself.

There is another patisserie that you should visit whenever you’re in Tokyo: Hidemi Sugino in Kyobashi, but I find it quite challenging to go there. So I was thinking..’hmmm maybe not this time’.

Luckily one of my colleague went to the place and bought me 6 pieces of different cakes from the shop, so we had a small cake party in the office, and the verdict ? It was all good, his cakes is so delicious. But to be frank, i like Sadaharu Aoki cakes more than Hidemi Sugino. I guess Sadaharu Aoki cakes are simpler, and I think that’s why I like it.

In any case, both are worth your visit – if you like cakes that is.

So the recipe that I’m going to share with you is an adaptation from my favorite food magazine. I made this cheese cake the day before my trip to Tokyo – something to chew for my sweet-tooth cameraman. The Cheese cake is very crumbly and not too cheesy (maybe because I use lighter cream cheese). So if you like almond cake with cream cheese frosting, this could be your next favorite recipe. It is really soft, almondney, crumbly with a hint of cream cheese flavor. It’s everything you need for your tea time companion. So give it a try!

_DSC5989_final_new

 Things you need:

  • 60 gr unsalted butter, softened
  • 120 gr caster sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean, split and seeds scrapped
  • 2 eggs, separated at room temperature
  • 120 gr almond meal
  • 150 cream cheese (I used almond and apricot cream cheese, it got some apricot and almond chunk in it and the taste is very subtle)
  • 60 gr flaked almonds, for decoration
  • icing sugar , for dusting

Things you need to do:

Preheat oven to 160 C. Line and the base of 4 of 10 cm spring form tins with baking paper – set aside.

Beat the butter, half of the sugar, vanilla seeds for 8-10 minutes, until pale and creamy. Add in the egg yolk and beat for another 2 minutes until well combined. Add the almond meal and beat to combine.

Beat the cream cheese until soften, whisk it into the almond meal mixture.

In another bowl beat the egg whites until stiff peak form. Gradually add in the remaining sugar to the egg whites and whisk until thickened. Fold the egg white mixture with the almond meal mixture in 2 batches until combined.

Layer the tops of the cakes with the almond flakes and bake for 40 -45 mins or until cooked and firm to touch. Let it cool completely in the tins. Dust with icing sugar to serve.

_DSC6008_final

Enhanced by Zemanta
