Tags

, , , ,

Floating dessert

Floating dessert

Last year I bought quite numbers of recipe books from the local book store here. But I haven’t really gone into the detail recipes and tried it. Most of the recipes that I tried were coming from the internet (mostly from some other bloggers). I’m not sure why, but I found that I can really connect to recipes from the blogs. Not only because it is free, but also that I found some assurance that some other people (that is not a professional cook) have actually cook / bake it successfully.

Nevertheless, I can’t ignore the fact that I have a full stacked of recipe books in my cabinet and I think it is time to really try it one by one.

So here it goes : Floating Island.

What you need is actually a poached meringue and creme anglaise (refer to the souffle recipe ).

I still have some creme anglaise from the matcha souffle. So I just need to make the poached meringue.

Floating Island (Makes 8 pieces of the meringue)

Things you need:

  • 1.5 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste/essence
  • 2 large eggs white

Things you need to do:

Combine 1.5 cups milk with 1/4 cup sugar and vanilla bean paste/essence (which i forgot to put in) over medium heat . Whisk the milk till the sugar dissolved. Bring to gentle boil.

Beat the egg white in a large bowl till soft peak, then add in the 1 tbsp of sugar. Mix them till you get the hard glossy meringue.

Scoop the meringue with 1 spoon, then use another spoon to shape it into a quenelle. Put the meringue into the simmering milk, and poach it for about 2-3 mins, turn the meringue gently and make sure they are cooked thoroughly. The sides of the meringue would be slightly hard when it is fully cooked.

Using a slotted spoon, take the meringue out from the milk, put a side.

Pour cold creme anglaise into a deep plate, then arrange the meringue on top of the creme. Some people actually make a caramel sauce or caramel web to decorate the dessert, but i found that the dish already sweet, so i garnish with some crushed pistachio to give a bit of crunch and saltiness into it.

_DSC4402_final

Note: Me and cameraman found it quite good but a bit too eggy for us, i would prefer to bake the meringue to remove the eggyness. But, then again i forgot to put the vanilla essence into the poaching mixture, which most likely will help to tone down the egg flavor. So happy trying! And don’t forget to put in the vanilla essence.

Photo portfolio can be found here

Enhanced by Zemanta
