Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

_DSC5238_final

I DON’T like cupcake! I really don’t. For me cupcake is an overrated pricey plain sponge cake hiding under the shade of a (usually) pretty frosting. Sorry for readers who likes cupcakes.. but I really don’t understand cupcakes, what is the big deal about them… why are people so crazy about them???

So the big question is .. ‘If that’s the case, why do I make a posting about cupcakes?’.. Well, one of my friend gave me this Project A, which requires me to make cupcakes as part of the task. She told me to make a cup cake that I would buy for myself.

To do this my friend suggested to go do some research on it.  She told me to go to this very famous cake shop ‘T***** Cupcake’ to give it a try. So, I went, bought a couple of their signature cake, took a couple of bites of them… and NOT impressed. I continued the research, went to another shop ‘Marmalade Pantry’. Their cupcakes are not pretty, it is quite plain looking and definitely not as pretty as how a normal cupcakes should be. But I bought them anyway. I put them in my mouth and  I continued chewing until none of it was left… It was sooo good, I didn’t remember to bring some home for my hubby…

Lesson learned from cupcake research:  Don’t trust the look!

Well anyway, I think to myself, I might be able to make a cupcake that i like. So here we go: Osmanthus Cupcake with Orange Frosting.

_DSC5241_final

Things you need:

For the Cupcake

  • 130 gr full milk
  • 113 gr butter, softened
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp dried Osmanthus flower Or 1 bag Osmanthus Sencha tea
  • 167 gr self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 112 gr granulated sugar

For the frosting

  • 210 gr butter, softened
  • 200 – 250 gr icing sugar, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Orange zest from 1 orange
  • 10 gr orange juice
  • 2-4 tbsp heavy cream

Things you need to do:

Make the cupcake. Preheat oven to 180 C degrees. Heat the milk and Osmanthus over a medium heat until almost boiling. Turn off the heat, let it steep for 10 mins. After it cools down, sieve the milk from the osmanthus flower/tea.

In a large bowl whisk together cake flour, baking powder and salt until mix well, set aside. In another bowl whip together butter and sugar on medium speed with paddle attachment until pale and fluffy, occasionally scraping down sides of bowl. Pour in honey. Add eggs one at a time and mix just until combined. Stir in vanilla and mix. Add in the dry ingredients alternating with milk mixture in three addition, mixing just until combined after each addition.

Fill paper lined cupcake cups 2/3 full and bake in preheated oven for 15-20 minutes, until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Allow to cool before you put the frosting.

Make the frosting. Beat the butter for a few minutes with the paddle attachment on medium speed.  Add 2/3 of the icing sugar and turn your mixer to the lowest speed until the sugar is incorporated with the butter. Increase the mixer to medium, add the orange juice,salt, 2 tbsp of heavy cream and the orange zest beat for another 3 minutes. If your frosting is too watery add in the remaining sugar, if it is too stiff add in the heavy cream.

Frost the cupcake with the cream.

Verdict? I think this cupcake is light and not to creamy as the topping is fruity. One thing to note down is that you need to whip the frosting long enough so that the frosting doesn’t have that grainy texture. My frosting was a bit grainy, but then I whipped it again to make it smoother.

_DSC5227_final

