Tags

, , , , , , ,

Espresso Creme Brulee

Espresso Creme Brulee

Yes! We finally have moved to the new house. New spacious kitchen and new kitchen toys.. I finally got my long overdue Kitchen Aid and lots and lots of kitchen cabinets for my stuff.

One of my best friends gave me a bunch of rare and expensive ingredients, she even gave me that small package of heavenly good black truffle slices swimming in olive oil. OOooh…I can’t wait to try that into my dishes.. I just need to get the right recipe for it.

However, I decided to make this great recipe that I found in Donna Hay magazine last year for the first kitchen trial. To be honest, working in a new kitchen is not easy, all of the maneuvers that you normally did in your old place don’t work anymore. Especially because you need to remember where you put your stuff in the new kitchen. So I can say, I was a bit all over the place yesterday. But luckily, good recipes never lie. Everything will always work at the end.

So this Creme Brulee Tart was the cover page of the magazine last year. The moment I saw the picture, I knew I had to try the recipe. But I was too distracted with some other recipes, until yesterday I decided it has been delayed too long. And guess what? it BLOWS my mind. It was soo good, my husband devoured it in the blink of an eye. I regretted I didn’t make it earlier but here we go!

Chocolate and Espresso Creme Brulee Tart (makes 12 of 10 cm tart)

luscious dessert

luscious dessert

This tart requires 3 components:

  • Chocolate Filling
  • Espresso cream patisserie
  • Chocolate pastry

Things you need:

For Chocolate filling:

  • 75 gr dark chocolate, chopped (I used Varlhona 64% choc)
  • 65 ml single cream

For  Creme Patisserie:

  • 1 tsp instant coffee granule
  • 2 tbs boiling water
  • 160 ml milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 75 gr caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tbs flour
  • 125 ml cream

For chocolate pastry

  • 25 gr dutch cocoa,  sifted
  • 185 gr plain  flour, sifted
  • 125 gr chilled butter, chopped
  • 80 gr icing sugar, shifted
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tbs iced water

Things you need to do:

Make the chocolate filling. Place the chocolate and cream in a small saucepan over love heat and stir until smooth. Set aside to cool completely.

Make the creme patisserie. Mix the instant coffee with the boiling water, set aside. Place the milk, vanilla extract and 2 tbs of sugar in the saucepan over a medium heat. Bring to boil.

Mix egg and the rest of the sugar in a bowl, whisk to combine. Add the flour and coffee mixture, whisk to combine. Carefully pour over the hot milk mixture, whisk well.  Return to the saucepan and whisk  until the mixture has thickened. Sieve the mixture and set aside.

In another bowl, whisk the cream until soft peak. Fold in the cream into the creme patisserie and refrigerate until needed.

Make the chocolate pastry. Place the cocoa, flour, butter and icing sugar in a bowl. Rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles fine bread crumbs. Add in the egg yolk and water and keep mixing it with  rubber spatula until the dough comes together. If you have food processor, you can do this with your food processor.

Flatten the dough into a flat disk, wrap it in plastic wrap and keep it in your fridge for at least 1 hour.

Roll the pastry out between 2 sheets of non stick baking paper to 3 mm thick. Line the dough into your pastry ring or fluted tart rings. Trim the edges and prick the bases with a fork. Refrigerate for another 30 mins.

While waiting for the dough, preheat the oven to 180 C.  Then blind bake (refer to this site for blind bake explanation) the pastry for 8 mins, take the weight out and bake the tarts for another 5-8 mins. Allow to cool in the tin.

Putting it all together. Pour the chocolate mixture into the tart cases, top with the creme patisserie.  Sprinkle the tart with white sugar, then brulee the sugar with kitchen blow torch until the sugar is caramelized. Serve it with black coffee, enjoy!!!

_DSC4619_final

Enhanced by Zemanta
